Left to right: 2019 Calloway Awardee - Circuit Attorney, Kim Gardner, presenters and well wishers City Treasurer, Tishaura Jones, Controller Darlene Green, Pastor Gina Kelley, License Collector Mavis Thompson, keynote speaker Maggie Anderson, State Senator Karla May, OBS Director Jamala Rogers, UFCW Local 655 Representative LaKenya Roberson.

The St. Louis Chapter of the Coalition of Black Trade Unionists (CBTU) will honor St. Louis American Publisher Dr. Donald M. Suggs with its Ernest and De Verne Calloway Award on Saturday, Oct. 16, 2021, at the Marriott Grand Hotel, 800 Washington Avenue.

The award is given in honor of the Calloway’s life-long commitment and fighting spirit for racial and economic justice in the St. Louis region, according to Jay Ozier, president of the St. Louis CBTU Chapter.

“Dr. Suggs is being honored for his civic, political, labor and media leadership in the St. Louis African American communities as the publisher of the award-winning St. Louis American Newspaper.”

A cash bar reception will begin at 6 p.m., and the dinner and program will follow at 7 p.m.

For ticket information contact Lew Moye at lewcbtu@aol.com or (314) 495-5635.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.