Tua Tagovaiiloa of Alabama, Kyler Murray of Oklahoma and Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State were named finalists for the 84th Heisman Trophy on Monday.

The award for the most outstanding college football player will be awarded Saturday – the ceremony will air live on ESPN.

Murray and Tagovailoa both led their teams to the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Capital One Orange Bowl on Dec. 29, which will pit Murray's fourth-seeded Sooners against Tagovailoa and No. 1 Alabama.

Murray, who was picked ninth overall by the Oakland Athletics in the summer's MLB draft, has said that he plans to give up football after this season to join the A's.

Tagovailoa is attempting to become Alabama's first-ever Heisman-winning quarterback.

Information from Espn.com contributed to this report.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.